Hello world! Time to get serious!

If I truly want something, no one and nothing can stop me. However, if I don’t really want something, no one and nothing can help me. Author James A Owen, verbalizes more smoothly this sentiment and also proves this rule over and over and over again in his relatively short life (compared to say, mine, not say compared to a dragonfly’s.) I say it more than I live it. I finished a sprint triathlon with a great deal of support from friends and family in November of 2011, and then have not raced again. I still intermittently run, swim, train, although my fear of the bike has actually grown with neglect of the practice. I am not the novice SOFT (Slow Old Fat Tryathlete) I was the spring of 2011 but I also have not yet completed a full triathlon, and as I write this, it is summer 2013.

What is the purpose of this blog? Sometimes I wonder what the purpose of blogs are anymore at all, I think to the mainstream they are as passe an art as the letters and cards I still carefully lick, stamp and drop in gaping metal maws.  I do it for the same reason, I am an avid visual/verbal communicator. I love to listen with my eyes to stories true or truer, read the prose, poetry and promises of people like and unlike me; I live to open letters and find the pen on page that says, “Hey, I thought about you today!” that can be opened and responded to on my own time table, without the rush or sparsity telephone and time.

That is why I blog.

Why this blog in particular? This is just for my “Try” athlete side. I am going to try 52 new things between my upcoming birthday month and the following birthday month, athletic things, body movement things, and diet things and class things and trainier things, and write once a week about them, why I will keep and repeat them; or why I will never,ever try that again. So that is why this blog. Between now and August 1, I will post a couple more times to just introduce myself, and get in the habit of writing.

If there are new SOFT audience members, please know I welcome but moderate comments. And feel free to jump in and share tips, trials and triumphs!

This entry was posted in 50+ athletics, Triathlons and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Hello world! Time to get serious!

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

Leave a Reply

